SOUP! (There it is) – Chilled Watermelon Gazpacho

DING DING DING IT’S TIME FOR ROUND TWOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Sure, you’ve had a savory soup before. That’s what we did last time. So let’s spice it up, shall we? Or should I say, sweet it up. I think I’m funny too.

Summer has basically set in, and we skipped spring, because spring was winter, and winter didn’t exist. Reference my previous soup recipe to see what I mean. Sunglasses, tank tops, blasting music outside, boat shoes with short shorts. Then again, that last one is year round. Ugh I hate boat shoes. MOVING ON.

This gazpacho that isn’t really a gazpacho because it’s fruit-based is a fantastic appetizer at a summer barbeque, and I know it sounds weird but it’s surprisingly good. The watermelon base refreshes you, the ginger and the mint add lightness and freshness, and the feta counterbalances the watermelon’s sugar.

Since I’m writing outside and I’m about to burn to a crisp because I’m concerningly pale, let’s get right to it.

INGREDIENTS


 

One medium watermelon, cut into one inch cubes
3 tablespoons chopped fresh mint
¼ cup plus 1 tablespoon sugar
Juice and zest of ½ lemon
¾ cup water
1 tablespoon chopped fresh ginger
½ cup Crumbled feta

PREPARATION


Combine 1 cup of the watermelon with mint, 1 tablespoon sugar, and lemon zest in a bowl, set aside in bowl and place in refrigerator to marinate.

Blend the remaining watermelon, lemon juice, water, remaining sugar, and ginger in a blender until smooth. Let sit 1/2 hour in refrigerator to allow air bubbles to escape.

Strain gazpacho. Place a few cubes of the reserved watermelon and a leeetle bit of feta in each bowl, and pour puree over. Slo-mo below. Rhymes, man.

If you don’t want the feta TOO BAD, you’re getting it anyway.

Some slo-mo action on this chilled watermelon, mint, and ginger soup topped with feta!

A post shared by Broiler Up Purdue Demo Kitchen (@broilerup) on

That’s all I got for you. I’m moody today and don’t want to go on a rant about how much I’m sick of mommy blogs with 14,000,000 pictures before the recipe, but there we go I’m angry.

BYE.

SAMSUNG CSC
Written by Zach “I Hate Everything” Jordan
Sophomore // Structural Engineering, Communications
Cooking Instructor

Leave a Reply

